If I was injured or a loved one was killed by a motor vehicle in a pedestrian accident can I file a personal injury claim against the driver?
Yes; victims of pedestrian accidents are entitled to a settlement to cover pain and suffering, lost wages and medical bills and other damages as long as the driver was at least partially at fault for the accident.
What if the pedestrian accident was partially my fault because I was running or walking outside of a crosswalk?
In Washington State, fault can be shared in a personal injury case. Damages are awarded based on contributory fault law which says that you may only be awarded damages proportionate to the percentage of fault contributed by the defendant and nothing for the amount of fault that you contributed. For example, if you were 10% at fault and your damages were $100,000, you would receive only $90,000.
My child was seriously injured in a pedestrian accident caused by a motor vehicle; what are our rights?
Children often behave unpredictably and for this reason motor vehicle drivers must be especially careful when children are present. School zones that require drivers to drive at a lower speed limit exist for this reason. If your child was seriously injured or killed as a pedestrian by a motor vehicle, contact a pedestrian accident lawyer as soon as possible who can discuss your legal rights.
Can I use Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage if I was hit as a pedestrian by an uninsured/underinsured motorist?
If your car insurance has PIP coverage then you should be able to receive compensation for injuries or death caused by a pedestrian accident with an uninsured/underinsured motorist.
How much is my pedestrian accident worth?
Like all accident cases, there is no set worth. When determining the value of a claim, a pedestrian accident lawyer will consider many factors including the severity of your injuries, the cost of your medical bills and other damages such as lost wages. Bike accident cases vary in value from a few thousand dollars to more than a million dollars.
How long do I have to file an accident claim after my pedestrian accident?
Personal injury claims in Washington State must generally be filed within 3 years from the date of the accident but there are exceptions such as when an accident happens to a minor child. Talk to a pedestrian accident attorney to discuss statute of limitations for your case.
Should I hire a lawyer if I was in a pedestrian accident?
It is wise to contact a local accident lawyer if you are in a pedestrian accident. He or she can assess the cause of the accident (fault), the severity of your injuries and the amount that your claim is worth. If the insurance company has offered a settlement it is a good idea to have it reviewed by a personal injury attorney; insurance companies will offer the lowest settlement possible. If your attorney negotiates a settlement on your behalf you pay only a portion of the settlement and consultations are free.
We look forward to answering all of your questions and speaking with you about your legal needs. When you call our office or send us a message through our consultation request form we will provide a FREE initial consultation and case evaluation. Our attorneys offer home and hospital visits with evening and weekend appointments available.