Driver errors and negligent driving behaviors are responsible for 94 percent of all motor vehicle accidents in the United States, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). In Washington State law, a person is guilty of negligent driving when they fail to use reasonable care while operating a vehicle that could lead to personal injuries and damages to another person or property.
If you were injured by a negligent driver, seek the help of an experienced local car accident lawyer.
There are two degrees of negligent driving in Washington State:
- An individual may be cited with negligent driving 1st degree if they operate a motor vehicle in a way that can be characterized as both negligent and endangers or is likely to endanger another person or property, and shows signs of the effects of having consumed alcohol, illegal drugs, or other intoxicants. Negligent driving first degree is a misdemeanor with a punishment of up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
- An individual may be cited with negligent driving 2nd degree if they operate a motor vehicle in a way that can be characterized as both negligent and endangers or is likely to endanger another person or property. Negligent driving second degree is an infraction with a penalty of $250 in fines and other costs.
What is Negligent Driving 2nd Degree Washington State?
In Washington State, second degree negligent driving is defined under statute 46.61.526:
(a) A person is guilty of negligent driving in the second degree if, under circumstances not constituting negligent driving in the first degree, he or she operates a motor vehicle in a manner that is both negligent and endangers or is likely to endanger any person or property.
(c) Negligent driving in the second degree is a traffic infraction and is subject to a penalty of two hundred fifty dollars.
(2) For the purposes of this section, “negligent” means the failure to exercise ordinary care, and is the doing of some act that a reasonably careful person would not do under the same or similar circumstances or the failure to do something that a reasonably careful person would do under the same or similar circumstances.
(3) Any act prohibited by this section that also constitutes a crime under any other law of this state may be the basis of prosecution under such other law notwithstanding that it may also be the basis for prosecution under this section.
How do traffic tickets impact personal injury claims?
Insurance adjusters may look at which driver received the traffic ticket and what the violation was to help determine liability in a car accident. While a traffic ticket alone is unlikely to determine who is at fault, it can have an impact on the outcome of a personal injury claim.
Local man issued a citation for 2nd-degree negligent driving in head-on crash
As reported by whatcom-news.com, a head-on crash in Lynden on Sunday, January 29 resulted in a 2nd degree negligent driving citation. The 25-year-old Lynden man was cited when he caused a head-on crash after crossing the center line. The 39-year-old driver who he hit was assessed by aid crews but not transported for further aid. The driver who caused the collision sustained non-life-threatening injuries and was transported from the scene to PeaceHealth St. Joseph Medical Center.
Seek the help of a car accident lawyer
If you or a loved one was injured in a collision because of the negligence of another, contact a personal injury lawyer to discuss your legal rights. Let an experienced car accident attorney fight for the full compensation that you deserve. It is not uncommon to receive a settlement from the insurance company that is five to ten times larger with the help of a lawyer. Call the personal injury lawyers at Tario & Associates, P.S. in Bellingham, WA today for a FREE consultation! We have been representing residents of Whatcom County, Skagit County, Island County and Snohomish County since 1979. You will pay nothing up front and no attorney fees at all unless we recover damages for you!