What should I do after being in a truck accident?
If you are involved in a truck accident take pictures of your injuries and the damage to your truck if you are able. Otherwise, seek medical attention right away. Keep copies of medical records, bills and expenses related to your injuries and contact an experienced truck accident lawyer who can help you understand the value of your accident claim.
Should I hire a lawyer if I was in a truck accident?
It is wise to contact a local accident lawyer if you are in a truck accident. He or she can assess the cause of the accident (fault), the severity of your injuries and the amount that your claim is worth. If the insurance company has offered a settlement it is a good idea to have it reviewed by a personal injury attorney; insurance companies will offer the lowest settlement possible. If your attorney negotiates a settlement on your behalf you pay only a portion of the settlement and consultations are free.
How much is my truck accident worth?
Like all accident cases, there is no set worth. When determining the value of a claim, a truck accident lawyer will consider many factors including the severity of your injuries, the cost of your medical bills and other damages such as lost wages. Truck accident cases vary in value from a few thousand dollars to more than a million dollars.
How long do I have to file an accident claim after my truck accident?
Personal injury claims in Washington State must generally be filed within 3 years from the date of the accident. Talk to a truck accident attorney to discuss statute of limitations for your case.
A car cut in front of my truck and drove off but caused me to crash my truck. Can I file an uninsured motorist claim?
Yes. Drivers hit by an unidentified driver can file a claim to recover damages under their own uninsured motorist policy.
What if I was partially at fault for my truck accident?
In Washington, fault can be shared in a personal injury case. Damages are awarded based on contributory fault law which says that you may only be awarded damages proportionate to the percentage of fault contributed by the defendant and nothing for the amount of fault that you contributed. For example, if you were 10% at fault and your damages were $100,000, you would receive only $90,000.
We look forward to answering all of your questions and speaking with you about your legal needs. When you call our office or send us a message through our consultation request form we will provide a FREE initial consultation and case evaluation. Our attorneys offer home and hospital visits with evening and weekend appointments available.